Squirrel! And gelato.

“You are very sleepy, your hand is getting very tired. You want to put the cup down. Put the cup down.”

I realized I have been so preoccupied with all the fabulous food in Charleston, Chloë has not been getting her share of the spotlight.  But where there’s food, there’s Chloë.  One night last week, we walked to Waterfront Park and got a Belgian Gelato.  Chloë was so busy trying to hypnotize Mark that she failed to notice the squirrels frolicking just behind her.

“What? Where? Crikey, man, stop waving that cup around, those are crafty buggers!” (I imagined Chloë speaking with an English accent)

It all worked out in the end.  Chloë got her cup and she still got to chase the squirrels through the park.  That looks awfully small to split three ways, huh?

Mark finally made it to Bridgeport today.  He had postponed his flight yesterday as a result of Tropical Storm Alberto.  It turned out to be unnecessary, but there was no way of knowing that on Sunday evening.  He opted to keep his return flight, which is also today, so he’ll be back later tonight.  I used the day to wander the city a bit on my own.  I started off by treating myself to breakfast, a biscuit and gravy with home fries at Dixie Supply Bakery & Cafe.  We have been in South Carolina almost two weeks and I had yet to have a biscuit and gravy. Unacceptable.  Dixie is a little counter service place that doesn’t look like much from the outside.  I had heard good things and we stopped in for breakfast one day last week, but decided to pass based on the no-frills appearance.  That was a mistake.  They’ve got good, homemade Southern cooking and fast, friendly service.  So really, this was a reconnaissance mission.  If Mark should find himself in need of breakfast again, I can respond with confidence.  I really should stop second guessing myself.

7 thoughts on “Squirrel! And gelato.

  1. You are just eating your way north, how great is that? When you arrive here you’ll be glad you took every opportunity to get some different dishes. Nothing new here.

  2. I’m so glad that Chloe is taking such good care of you when Mark is away. Make sure to be here in time for our Mardi Gras party at Relay! Love ya.

Are you talkin' to me? Please?

