Freedom Trail, Part 2 (Hooray for Freedom)

USS Constitution and the Bunker Hill Monument.

It has been a long holiday week (or so) of too much eating, drinking and general frivolity (nonsense, I know). Finally, I had a moment to myself and realized I haven’t posted anything in nearly two weeks. So much for keeping up with yesterday. Even worse, I left off right in the middle of a two-part series. Looking over my remaining photos from Boston, it occurred to me that it is a fine day for this post, a good day for celebrating Boston and freedom and those who have sacrificed for it.

We picked up the Trail at Paul Revere’s statue. A street busker in period costume was playing a glass harmonica (what else?) when we arrived and a group of service men and women from the Charlestown Navy Yard gathered around her at the foot of the statue. I’m nosy and Mark needed to take a work phone call, so I lingered to see what was happening. Suddenly, the group broke into song, performing “Anchors Aweigh” and “The Star-Spangled Banner.” It was weird and wonderfully spontaneous, in the shadow of The Old North Church, where Paul Revere sent the famous “one if by land, two if by sea” signal. Then, the sailors fell into formation and marched off into the city.

We went in the other direction, past the church and Copp’s Hill Burying Ground, where they are of the opinion that dogs are generally not very respectful visitors. Mark scores again. The Trail continues over the Charlestown Bridge and Chloë was none too happy about the open grate, looking down at the river below as the bridge vibrated from traffic whizzing by. I tried to be brave, but I didn’t like it either. We made it across and found an acceptable pit stop for Chloë before continuing to Bunker Hill, lest we be thought disrespectful. It turns out Charlestown is pretty dog friendly, especially the Navy Yard. Several personnel came over to make a fuss about Chloë, including a guard who came out of his shack to direct her to a fresh bowl of water.

I guess our tour should be called, “The Freedom Trail, As Seen From The Street.” We did go back to the USS Constitution for the tour, but it was closed that day for a private event. I downloaded National Park Service apps to our phones so we could do a self-guided tour and, every time Mark complained, I threatened him with the massive tour groups led by guys in tricorne hats. Chloë enjoyed being out with us and I enjoyed telling people she’s a history buff. Mark thought that stopped being funny after the second time.

Boston is one of my new favorite places. It was a good place to finish out a year of travel and the first of what I hope will be many return trips.

4 thoughts on “Freedom Trail, Part 2 (Hooray for Freedom)

Are you talkin' to me? Please?

