An Enthusiastic Happy New Year!

The whole New Year deal has always been kind of bittersweet for me. It marks the beginning of the post-holiday letdown: un-decorating, fretting over extra holiday pounds, the pressure of New Year’s Eve (almost always spent either out, wishing I had stayed home or at home, feeling like a loser for not going out). Then, there is the sensation of life rushing past as the final moments of another year tick by.

On the other hand, there is the first day of a brand new year. I love a new beginning, a slate wiped clean. There is so much possibility, a moment to let go of mistakes made and opportunities missed. Over the holidays, I heard that many of you missed my ramblings and that was a wonderful gift. So, we start anew and revisit the old and who knows what the year ahead holds. I did not mean to rhyme that.

This is the first time this millennium that January has not found me preparing to go to Florida. I have not overcome my aversion to winter, but I am trying my best to find the exciting opportunities in this particular new beginning. I’m cold, but I’m also optimistic that this year will bring all sorts of unimagined joys. I know my success in making the year ahead a great one is all about my decision to do it. In our rush through life, we often forget that our choices are crucial in the creation of our happiness. First, we must decide to be happy, then decide what makes us happy and pursue those things, instead of expecting happiness by default. So, if I’m choosing a resolution (or revisiting an old one) for this new year, it is to consciously pursue happiness in all things, wherever I am. In that spirit, I shamelessly wish you a healthy, prosperous, happy and intentional New Year.

Most folks are as happy as they make up their minds to be  — Abraham Lincoln

2 thoughts on “An Enthusiastic Happy New Year!

  1. Happy New Year Kristie! Your beautiful, expressive way of explaining the pursuit of happiness is totally the same way I feel too. Can’t wait to hear more from you in 2013. Love ya! Rosie

Are you talkin' to me? Please?

